Cinnaminies

cinnaminies 2

From the Baker’s lips to your ears: I love the sweet and spicy flavor of these delicious cookies. I love their crumble and the way they break apart when you try to pick one up. I love how every time I make them they turn out differently. They began as a dessert my dad threw together that he thought I would enjoy (because I would always put cinnamon sugar on my toast in the morning and I would get cinnamon morning buns at the bakery). Overtime he taught me to make them and we would make them together, perfecting them based on our moods — some days more oil, more sugar, less flour, a different type of flour, rolled oats, steel cut oats, no egg, etc. We named them cinnaminies after their main ingredient: cinnamon. Anyways, there’s really almost no wrong way to make them so I hope you play around with the proportions and ingredients and enjoy. Just remember to include lots and lots of cinnamon!

Cinnaminies 1

Since the Baker’s not huge on recipes, here’s the ratios she used the last time that she made these sweet treats:

one egg white
1/3 or so cup olive oil
teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup cinnamon
1 cup oats
1/2 cup flour
pinch of baking soda
pinch of salt

Mix ingredients together and spread on a cookie sheet. The Baker sprinkled this batch with oats to increase their nuttiness.cinnaminies

Then bake at 350 until they’ve got the cookie texture you prefer, either soft and chewy, or harder and crunchy.  The Baker prefers them the same way that she prefers all of her cookies, severely under-baked.

This entry was posted in Baker, Cinnamon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

